This content has been machine translated.
From paper to quarters

From paper to quarters

Zug,

With the Papieri area, the Cham Group is developing a new living and working quarter with industrial charm. Significant existing buildings from the original paper mill are being supplemented with striking new buildings directly on the Lorze. Immo! Nvest asked the Cham Group about the current state of affairs.

“The construction progress of the five buildings of the first construction phase is on schedule despite the pandemic,” says the person responsible for communication, Kathrin Sonderegger. In the southernmost high-rise building with condominiums (Papieri-Suites), the shell is already up to the fifth floor. In the former PM1-4 paper machine halls, new staircases, floor ceilings and apartment partition walls are being installed, as well as the renovation of the facade for the spacious loft apartments and studios (Papieri-Lofts). The new building with 160 rental apartments running parallel to this – 30 of them in the inexpensive range – is also well advanced in terms of shell construction. The Maschinengasse that is emerging between the two buildings is also slowly becoming recognizable. This will be animated at the end of 2022 by the various users of the one or two-story adjoining studios. Underground car parks 1 and 2 are currently under construction, and their parking spaces can be equipped with charging stations for electric cars in a future-proof manner.

Planning of the second construction phase is well advanced
The newly renovated and listed Lokremise was handed over to its new owner at the end of the year. Sonderegger says: "After the renovation of the workshop building, the second commercial conversion of a historic building on the site became a reality." At the end of the year, the construction of the new Ringstrasse (Papieri-Ring) began, which is part of the main development of the area and encircles the buildings of the second construction phase. As part of the second construction phase, in addition to the commercially used replacement building for the silo building, two high-rise residential buildings with 61 owner-occupied and 36 rental apartments will be built. Commercial space and a day-care center are planned on the ground floors. 64 micro-apartments complete the housing offer.

CO2-neutral energy system
Those responsible for the site development pursue the goals of the 2000 Watt Society. It is worth mentioning the sustainable energy supply of the Papieri area with a self-sufficient, CO2-neutral heating and cooling supply. A significant amount of electricity is generated by the company's own river power plant and photovoltaic systems on the building roofs. The construction of the energy center has been completed and the installation of the technical systems is in full swing. Also as part of the energy system, around 100 geothermal probes have already been drilled and installed to a depth of 320 meters. The energy system will be put into operation in autumn 2021, so that the existing houses and the buildings under construction can already be supplied with sustainable heat this winter. “In addition to the building permit, the canton's concession for the operation of the run-of-river power plant is available, the renovation of which will start in early summer 2021. The area of the former wastewater treatment plant (ARA) will be completely renatured, landscaped and supplemented with a small river arm ”, says Sonderegger.

Huge interest
The Cham Group is already seeing a great deal of interest from the population: "The residents find out what is happening on the site and we try to get updates accordingly," says Sonderegger. Unfortunately, the corona pandemic is currently making events such as the open construction site day in 2019 for residents and interested parties impossible. The reactions at the time were overwhelming. “The same thing can also be seen in sales: there is great confidence in our site development and the quarter that is being created here. The first apartments that came on the market at the end of 2019 were reserved within a week. Over 3000 people have subscribed to our newsletter. » One reason for the trust is that the Cham Group will be there as the owner and builder. The team has its offices on the site and is on the pulse of what's happening. Suggestions can be reacted to, feedback and inputs flow directly, and any reservations are defused.

On June 4, 2020, when the foundation stone was laid, a time capsule was filled with objects typical of the time and built into the foundation of the first construction phase. It should document the building project for future generations. What was the most special item? Sonderegger explains with a laugh: “In view of the fact that we can't even have lunch in a restaurant at the moment, and many people miss this time together in the team, the current menu cards from the surrounding restaurants are items of particular relevance. Who knows whether meat will still be eaten in 100 years' time – then minced meat tats might be part of a forgotten meal. "

Vom Papier zum Quartier

Vom Papier zum Quartier

Zug,

Die Cham Group entwickelt mit dem Papieri-Areal ein neues Wohn- und Arbeitsquartier mit industriellem Charme. Direkt an der Lorze werden prägende Bestandsbauten der ursprünglichen Papierfabrik mit markanten Neubauten ergänzt. Immo!nvest erkundigte sich bei der Cham Group nach dem Stand der Dinge.

«Der Baufortschritt der fünf Gebäude der ersten Bauetappe verläuft trotz der Pandemie termingerecht», sagt die Verantwortliche für Kommunikation, Kathrin Sonderegger. Beim südlichsten Hochhaus mit Eigentumswohnungen (Papieri-Suites) steht der Rohbau bereits bis zum fünften Obergeschoss. In den ehemaligen Papiermaschinenhallen PM1-4 erfolgen der Einbau neuer Treppenhäuser, Geschossdecken und Wohnungstrennwände sowie die denkmalpflegerische Sanierung der Fassade für die grosszügigen Loftwohnungen und -ateliers (Papieri-Lofts). Der parallel dazu verlaufende Neubau mit 160 Mietwohnungen – davon 30 im preisgünstigen Bereich – ist im Rohbau ebenfalls weit fortgeschritten. Auch die Maschinengasse, die zwischen den beiden Gebäuden entsteht, wird langsam erkennbar. Diese wird Ende 2022 durch die verschiedenen Nutzer der ein- oder zweistöckigen angrenzenden Ateliers belebt. Derzeit im Bau befinden sich die Tiefgaragen 1 und 2, deren Abstellplätze zukunftstauglich mit Ladestationen für Elektroautomobile ausgerüstet werden können.

Planung der zweiten Bauetappe weit fortgeschritten
Die frisch sanierte und denkmalgeschützte Lokremise wurde Ende Jahr ihrem neuen Besitzer übergeben. Sonderegger sagt: «Damit wurde nach der Sanierung des Werkstattgebäudes die zweite gewerbliche Umnutzung eines historischen Gebäudes auf dem Areal Realität.» Ende Jahr startete auch der Bau der neuen Ringstrasse (Papieri-Ring), welche zur Haupterschliessung des Areals gehört und die Gebäude der zweiten Bauetappe umrundet. Im Rahmen der zweiten Bauetappe werden neben dem gewerblich genutzten Ersatzbau des Silogebäudes zwei Wohnhochhäuser mit 61 Eigentums- und 36 Mietwohnungen gebaut. In den Erdgeschossen sind Gewerbeflächen und eine Kindertagesstätte geplant. 64 Mikroapartments ergänzen das Wohnangebot.

CO2-neutrales Energiesystem
Die Verantwortlichen der Arealentwicklung verfolgen die Ziele der 2000-Watt-Gesellschaft. Erwähnenswert ist die nachhaltige Energieversorgung des Papieri-Areals mit einer autarken, CO2-neutralen Wärme- und Kälteversorgung. Ein signifikanter Stromanteil wird durch das eigene Flusskraftwerk und Photovoltaikanlagen auf den Gebäudedächern erzeugt. Der Bau der Energiezentrale ist abgeschlossen und die Installation der technischen Anlagen in vollem Gange. Ebenfalls als Bestandteil des Energiesystems wurden bereits rund 100 Erdsonden auf eine Tiefe von 320 Meter gebohrt und eingebracht. Das Energiesystem wird im Herbst 2021 in Betrieb genommen, sodass die zwischengenutzten bestehenden Häuser und die sich im Bau befindenden Gebäude bereits diesen Winter mit nachhaltiger Wärme beliefert werden können. «Nebst der Baubewilligung liegt auch die Konzession des Kantons für den Betrieb des Flusskraftwerks vor, dessen Sanierung im Frühsommer 2021 startet. Der Bereich der ehemaligen Abwasserreinigungsanlage (ARA) wird im nächsten Jahr vollständig renaturiert, landschaftlich umgestaltet und mit einem kleinen Flussarm ergänzt», so Sonderegger.

Grosses Interesse
Schon jetzt nimmt die Cham Group ein grosses Interesse aus der Bevölkerung wahr: «Die Anwohner informieren sich, was auf dem Areal passiert, und wir bemühen uns um entsprechende Updates», sagt Sonderegger. Leider verunmögliche die Coronapandemie derzeit Veranstaltungen wie der 2019 durchgeführte Tag der offenen Baustelle für Anwohner und Interessierte. Die Reaktionen seien damals überwältigend gewesen. «Dasselbe zeigt sich auch im Verkauf: Das Vertrauen in unsere Arealentwicklung und das Quartier, welches hier entsteht, ist gross. Innert Wochenfrist waren die ersten Wohnungen, die Ende 2019 auf den Markt kamen, reserviert. Über 3000 Personen haben unseren Newsletter abonniert.» Ein Grund für das Vertrauen liege sicher darin, dass die Cham Group als Eigentümerin und Bauherrin vor Ort sein. Das Team hat seine Büros auf dem Areal und ist so am Puls des Geschehens. Auf Anregungen kann reagiert werden, Feedbacks und Inputs fliessen direkt ein, und allfällige Vorbehalte werden entschärft.

Am 4. Juni 2020 wurde bei der Grundsteinlegung eine Zeitkapsel mit zeittypischen Gegenständen gefüllt und in das Fundament der ersten Bauetappe eingebaut. Sie soll das Bauprojekt für nachfolgende Generationen dokumentieren. Was war der speziellste Gegenstand? Sonderegger erklärt mit einem Lachen: «In Anbetracht dessen, dass wir momentan nicht mal mehr in einem Restaurant Mittagessen können, und viele diese gemeinsame Zeit im Team vermissen, sind wohl die aktuellen Menükarten aus den umliegenden Restaurants Gegenstände von besonderer Relevanz. Wer weiss, ob in 100 Jahren noch Fleisch gegessen wird – dann gehören Hackfleisch-Tätschli vielleicht zu einem vergessenen Essen.»