This content has been machine translated.
UZH wants to generate electricity on a green roof

UZH wants to generate electricity on a green roof

Zürich ,

The canton of Zurich has submitted the building template for the new teaching and learning center of the University of Zurich (UZH). The seven-storey wooden hybrid building is to have a green roof, on which electricity will be generated at the same time as a photovoltaic system.

The University of Zurich is to have a new teaching and learning center, the FORUM UZH, by 2028. According to a message on Monday, the cantonal building construction department submitted the building pre-submission. Afterwards, the seven-story building designed by the Basel architects Herzog & de Meuron will be erected as a wood hybrid construction with a concrete structure. The use of wood is supposed to save as much CO2 as is needed to build 77 single-family houses.

The roof is to be greened intensively, thereby improving cooling in summer and thermal insulation in winter. At the same time, the roof will have a photovoltaic system. This should generate around 150 megawatt hours per year, enough electricity for 50 households.

Construction is scheduled to begin in 2024. In the future, the building will have 700 workplaces for students and work space for 6000 members of the university.

UZH will auf begrüntem Dach Strom erzeugen

UZH will auf begrüntem Dach Strom erzeugen

Zürich ,

Der Kanton Zürich hat die Bauvoreingabe für das neue Lehr- und Lernzentrum der Universität Zürich (UZH) eingereicht. Das siebenstöckige Holzhybridgebäude soll ein begrüntes Dach erhalten, auf dem zugleich mit einer Photovoltaikanlage Strom erzeugt wird.

Die Universität Zürich soll bis 2028 mit dem FORUM UZH ein neues Lehr- und Lernzentrum erhalten. Das kantonale Hochbauamt hat laut einer Mitteilung am Montag die Bauvoreingabe eingereicht. Danach wird das vom Basler Architekturbüro Herzog & de Meuron entworfene siebenstöckige Gebäude als Holzhybridbau mit einem Tragwerk aus Beton errichtet werden. Die Verwendung von Holz soll so viel CO2 einsparen, wie für den Bau von 77 Einfamilienhäusern benötigt wird.

Das Dach soll intensiv begrünt werden und damit die Kühlung im Sommer und die Wärmedämmung im Winter verbessern. Zugleich erhält das Dach eine Photovoltaikanlage. Diese soll etwa 150 Megawattstunden pro Jahr erzeugen, genug Strom für 50 Haushalte.

Der Bau soll 2024 beginnen. Das Gebäude soll künftig 700 Arbeitsplätze für Studierende umfassen und Arbeitsraum für 6000 Angehörige der Universität.